Womens Work


LA County Fair 2009

Originally uploaded by totarocat

Jen here…

A neighbor of mine, who grew up on a farm in Arkansas, was slightly horrified that we hadn’t taken the kids to the LA County Fair. She came by last week with an offer we couldn’t refuse: $1.00 entrance fee this weekend. The kids had a great time and saw the obligatory cow, ate very expensive hot dogs and ran around in the hay. My husband and I could have spent hours in the pavilion of Womens Work (that’s what I’m calling it). It was a huge room filled with glass cases of prize winners in baking, sewing, quilting, table setting, christmas tree decorating and so many other things. I enjoy the crafty part of running a household and it’s fun to see others enjoy it too. I also cannot see something like this without thinking of Judy Chicago’s The Dinner Party.

I’m not discriminating in my craft-love: high minded conceptual art, cookie contest, whatever.  It’s all interesting to me.

Leave a Reply

