All Work and No Play Makes Amy Able to Pay Her Mortgage

Amy here.

I am working again, sort of. I’m a freelancer and usually work at home (when I have work, which is not too often lately). But I just got a project for three whole weeks, full time, so that’s good news. The project is on-site, i.e. in the office, i.e. away from my house where I can surf the web and nap in the afternoons if I need to, with no boss looking over my shoulder. At my new job I just sit at a table, not even at a desk. I have two huge screens and there’s no privacy whatsoever.

Do I sound like I’m complaining? Because I’m not. Mostly not. Mostly I’m happy to have the work. And it feels good to go to an office and be with other humans, not to mention working while wearing pants, which I don’t always do at home. Then there’s that whole part about teamwork. And friends. And out-to-lunches. All these things are good things, and the paycheck for three weeks of work at a healthy hourly rate is the best thing of all.

But damn. I’m tired. Naptime rolled around this afternoon and I was all, “Yeah you guys, I’ll just be curled up here under the desk for 20 minutes. See you in a few!” Actually, I had a cup of coffee. Half a cup. And that helped.

I’ve also been trying to get up early to work on a short story and I’m determined to do it all week. How do people do this — work on their own projects, work full time jobs, take care of their kids, keep the house clean, remember to call their mothers, etc? I know people do it. If you’re one of those people and you have some sort of an instruction manual or brochure, please feel free to share.

In the meantime it’s 9:30 and I’m more than ready for bed. Maybe that’s the secret? To misquote an old favorite:
Early to bed
And early to rise
Really productive people
Who are you guys?

2 responses to “All Work and No Play Makes Amy Able to Pay Her Mortgage

  1. Finn & Zoe's Mommy

    Wow! This is a great post, I am loving this blog – it is so entertaining, I’m going to to check in every day – that post about the Bratz was good too! keep ’em coming!

  2. Pingback: Twitted by thebroadtweet

Leave a Reply

